Do-over

November 17, 2011

My husband and I spent our honeymoon backpacking around Europe. We took trains. Lots and lots of trains. Sitting on a train for 12 hours gets old, even on your honeymoon. So we picked up paperbacks along the way. (We discovered Dan Brown. Don’t judge us. We also read Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell).

At that point in my life I wasn’t the rabid knitter that I am now- but when I ran across a yarn shop in Spain, completely at random, I bought some yarn and dpn’s and cast on for a hat. And then for some reason I went to a department store in Edinburgh. Did you know the Scots have yarn in their department stores? Me either. But I found this:

In real life, this yarn is less blue.

It was perfect for my sister, who has a cool pink skin tone. So shortly I was sitting in a coffeeshop (or rattling across the landscape, who can remember?) knitting this hat:

My sister, practical girl that she is, likes earflaps.

My sister is one of those people you can give hats to. She likes them even if they have sequins. In fact, she likes them especially if they have sequins. And she wore this one. But last year she told me that she would like another hat- but not so tight. I was happy to oblige.

This year, when asked if she had a yen for any particular hand-made item, she said she wanted me to make the old hat bigger. I even took her to a yarn shop and tried to get her to pick out new yarn, for a new bigger hat, but she loves the old one.

Luckily I still have the leftovers.

2 Responses to “Do-over”

  1. Christiane said

    I wore my C Sears original recently and got compliments (it is so well loved it has a hole in it that i am sure I could get *someone* to darn hint hint!)…

Leave a Reply

