Seriously?

March 6, 2012

So, I ripped out the hat, just like I said I would. I knitted it back up a bit. I was pretty sure I was going to have exactly the right amount of yarn, just to reconfirm my own brilliance.

And then D and I had a conversation that went kind of like this.

Me (shoving the hat on his head): That seems kind of tight.

HIm: A little

Me: Is it too tight?

Him: I think it’s fine.

Me: Are you sure?

Him: If you re-do it, it might still be too tight. Or too loose. And then you’d get mad at me.

Me: Hrm.

Him: It’s fine. Just keep knitting.

Finally I tried it on myself. It was so tight it squeezed my noggin, which, although large, does not approach the size of his. An internal battle raged between the faction that remembers many early hats that were knitted exactly as directed by a pattern and turned out way to big, and the faction that remembers later hats that compensated for this problem, and turned out brain-squeezingly tight. In the end, I cast on with a whopping 8 additional stitches- which, at 4 st/in slightly stretched, is a pretty significant addition.

The weird thing is, once I added the stitches I totally got my mojo back. I’d been getting sick of the thing, but a few rows into this (3rd) version, I was knitting along happily, remembering the internal peace that is knitting.

And then I ran out of yarn.

Not kidding.

Honestly, it’s a good thing hats are small, given the number of times I knit them.

2 Responses to “Seriously?”

  1. “And then I ran out of yarn” should be the new catch phrase that means, “Totally lost it”. I’m using it.

Leave a Reply

